COMMUNITY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT 46 SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING APRIL 16, 2024

Call To Order and Roll Call	The Special Board Meeting of the Community Consolidated School District 46, Lake County, Illinois was held on April 16 , 2024 .
	Mr. Stephen Mack called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Members Present: Stephen Mack, Kristy Braden, Jessica Albert, Jason Lacroix, Kristy Miller, Tamika Nash, and Jim Weidman. Members Absent: None. Also Present: Superintendent, Dr. Lynn Glickman, Director of IASB Field Services, Laura Martinez, and Director of IASB Policy Services, Nicholas Bauman.
Establishment of Quorum	Quorum was established.
Approval of Agenda	Motion for the approval of the April 16 , 2024 Special Board Meeting Agenda as presented. Motioned by Weidman and seconded by Braden for the approval of the agenda as presented. Yeas: Miller, Mack, Albert, Weidman, Braden, Lacroix, and Nash. Nays: None. Motion carried.
Discussion	The Board and Superintendent participated in a workshop conducted by the Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB) titled 'Saying What We Mean & Doing What We Say.' Laura Martinez, Director of Field Services, and Nicholas Bauman, Director of Policy Services, outlined the objectives of the meeting: • Gain an understanding of the reviewing and monitoring aspects of policy work • Discuss the board's process for reviewing and monitoring policies • Clarify the roles of the board and superintendent in policy monitoring During the workshop, it was emphasized that Board Policy clarifies the commitments of the Board and the district, while also providing important information to stakeholders. The significance of monitoring policies was highlighted, underscoring that they serve as the voice of the Board. Furthermore, the respective
	responsibilities of the Board and the superintendent in relation to policy were discussed.
Public Comments	None.
Adjournment	There being no further business to come before the Board of Education, it was motioned by Weidman and seconded by Miller for

8:10 p.m. Yeas: Lacroix, Nash, Miller, Mack, Albert, Weidman, and Brad
Nays: None.
Motion carried.